Staff & Board of Directors


Bladen Smart Start invites you to contact our staff to learn more about what we have to offer. Below is a list of contacts.

Dr. Margaret Lawrence
Executive Director

Lillian Bryant
Director of Operations

LaTonya Brown
Program Manager

Gwen Frempong
Administrative / Program Assistant

Ingrid Johnson
Early Childhood Service Specialist & Raising a Reader Assistant

Carolyn Cromartie
Be Active Kids / Color Me Healthy Coordinator

Board of Directors

Bladen Smart Start is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors, representing Business/Community, Government, and Services. Former and current board members, along with citizens-at-large, serve on the board's committees. Below is a list of the partnership's board officers and members.

  • Ray Britt
  • Ann Brown
  • Dr. Kenneth Dinkins, Vice Chair
  • Terri Duncan
  • Sheila Dunlap
  • Kelsey Edwards, Treasurer
  • Dr. Patricia Faulk
  • Vickie Gillespie
  • Anita Hall
  • Angela Hines
  • Dr. Amanda Lee
  • Rufus Lloyd
  • Gregory Martin
  • Pastor Brandon Meadows
  • Dr. Darrell Page
  • Quessie Peterson, Chair
  • Michelle Price-McCoy
  • Vicki Smith
  • Dr. Robert Taylor

Board Meetings

  • The full Board of Directors meets every other month and on the last Wednesday of the month (July, September, November, January, March and May).
  • Meetings are open to the public and minutes are a matter of public record.